Football Great Charlie Green Elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Charlie Green

Charlie Green was Wittenberg's starting quarterback from 1962 through 1964 and never lost a game.

SPRINGFIELD, Ohio - Forty years after his glorious three-year run as starting quarterback for the Wittenberg University Tiger football team, Charlie Green '65 will be immortalized in the College Football Hall of Fame. He becomes the fourth Wittenberg athlete/coach to be elected by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame into its South Bend, Ind. shrine, following in the footsteps of Ernie Godfrey, Bill Edwards and Dave Maurer.

Green was one of Wittenberg's greatest football players and the leader of several of its finest teams. The starter under center from 1962-64, Green guided Wittenberg to three straight Ohio Athletic Conference championships, the No. 1 ranking in the nation in the Associated Press College Division poll twice and a phenomenal 25-0-1 record.

A native of West Milton, Ohio, Green was an All-America selection and OAC Most Valuable Offensive Player as a senior in 1964 after leading the conference in passing yards, passing yards per game, touchdown passes and total offense for a second straight season. He established 14 OAC records and had a pass efficiency rating of 189.0 in 1963, a mark that still ranks among the top 10 in NCAA history. Green finished his career ranked first in Wittenberg history with 5,575 passing yards and 61 touchdown passes - marks no one has even approached before or since.

After graduating in 1965 with a degree in education, Green played professional football fo four seasons with the Boston Patriots and Oakland Raiders. Green, whose son Tyler was a major league baseball pitcher with the Philadelphia Phillies, was also the team MVP of the baseball team and a basketball letterwinner while at Wittenberg.

Green, who resides in Denver, Colo., will be inducted as a member of the Divisional Hall of Fame, which includes players and coaches from NCAA Divisions I-AA, II and III and NAIA. The class of 2002, which includes Tony Blazine of Illinois Wesleyan, Harry Carson of South Carolina State, Rod Cason of Angelo State, Kenny Gamble of Colgate, Brent Jones of Santa Clara, Chris Ault of Nevada, Marcelino Huerta of Tampa, Wichita State and Parsons, and Fred Martinelli of Ashland, will be inducted Aug. 9-10 in South Bend.